Mission

Kunsthalle image

Friart has organised over 160 exhibitions and 30 off-site projects since it was founded in 1981. In 1991, Friart moved into an industrial building at No. 22 Petites-Rames in Fribourg’s old town. At the crossroads of Switzerland’s different linguistic regions, Friart is somewhere that brings the different art scenes of French and German-speaking Switzerland into dialogue. Friart has earned an international reputation for its adventurousness and the global reach of a curatorial programme that showcases emerging, Swiss and international artists, and presents historical surveys that aim to promote the (re-)discovery of parallel histories, alternative cultures and expression, and artists and works that have not received the attention they deserve.

The Kunsthalle Friart has presented debut solo exhibitions of Dominique Gonzales Foerster (1996), Latifa Echakhch (2010), Valentin Carron (2002), Steven Parrino (2002) and David Hammons (1993), and organised significant exhibitions of work by Renée Green (1996), Julia Scher (1996), Thomas Hirschhorn (1995) and Marc Dion (1995). Recently, it hosted exhibitions by the designers Trix & Robert Haussmann (2014), Cameron Rowland (2016), Italian artist Ketty La Rocca (2019), Dorota Gaweda & Eglé Kulbokaité (2019), Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff (2020) and Hamishi Farah (2021) and organised the investigative and research exhibitions Movie Implosion! (2015), on Swiss experimental cinema, Discoteca Analitica (2019), on the emergence of multimedia environments in the 1960s, and The films of Guillaume Dustan (2020), which presented the films made by the French writer between 2000 and 2004.

Kunsthalle Friart Fribourg is managed by a non-profit association.

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE OF THE FRI-ART ASSOCIATION:
– Clémence de Weck: Presidency
– Nicolas Brodard
– Hani Buri
– Julien Vuilleumier
– Irène Unholz
– Débora Alcaine

ARTISTIC DIRECTION SINCE 1981:
– Michel Ritter (1981-2002)
– Sarah Zürcher (2002-2007)
– Corinne Charpentier (2007-2013)
– Balthazar Lovay (2013-2019)
– Nicolas Brulhart (since 2019)

Team/Contact

Kunsthalle image

ADMINISTRATION
– Nicolas Brulhart: artistic direction
– Estelle Negro: administrative direction
– Sacha Rappo: artistic coordination
– Julie Folly: communication

RECEPTION
– Esengo Miere
– Camille Ayer
– Maïté Pittet
– Alix Beaudegnies
– Janosh Ourtilane
– Pierre Huguenot

CONTRIBUTORS
– Fanny Delarze: art education
– Eurostandard, Pierrick Brégeon: graphic design
– Guillaume Baeriswyl: photography
– Chi-Binh Trieu: programming (new website)
– Marie Gyger: editorial direction (new website)
– Jack Sims: English translator
– Michèle Graf and Selina Grüter: German translators

MAINTENANCE
– Teresa de Sousa Celestino-Cardosi
– Conceição Silva Carvalho

CONTACT

Kunsthalle Friart Fribourg
Petites-Rames 22
Case Postale 294
CH–1701 Fribourg
+41 (0) 26 323 23 51
info@friart.ch

PRESS
press@friart.ch

BOOKSHOP
editions@friart.ch

MEDIATION
mediation@friart.ch

Newsletter
Instagram
Facebook
Vimeo
Soundcloud

Friends of Friart

Kunsthalle image

Becoming a Friend of Friart is the ideal way to support the institution, remain in close contact with its activities and meet new people who share a passion for art.

BENEFITS

– Free admission to Friart and many partner locations throughout Switzerland*
– Discount of 20% on Friart publications and editions
– Free guided tour
– Annual cultural trip with the Friends of Friart

*Mamco Genève, Centre d’art contemporain Genève, CAN – Centre d’art de Neuchâtel, Kunsthalle Bern, Kunsthalle Zürich, Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, Kunsthalle St. Gallen, Kunsthaus Glarus, Kunstmuseum Thun, Kunstmuseum Langenthal, Aargauer Kunsthaus Aarau, Museum Allerheiligen Schaffhausen, Centro Arte Contemporanea Ticino Bellinzona

ADMISSION

Artist / Student
20 CHF / year
Friend
50 CHF / year
Couple
80 CHF / year
Donor
500 CHF / year
Benefactor
Amounts over 500 CHF

BECOME A FRIEND 

When registering, you have the opportunity of acquiring the Friends of Friart special edition.

Information: amis@friart.ch / + 41 (0)26 323 23 51

ASSOCIATION COMMITTEE

– Luke H. Gillon: President
– Pierre Stadler: Treasurer
– Laura Lanfranchi, Antonie Oberson, Nicolas Horvath, Alix Baudegnies: Committee
– Jean-Baptiste de Weck: Honorary President

Edition of the Friends of Friart

Each year, the Association des Ami-e-s de Friart invites an artist connected to the Kunsthalle to produce a special edition at an affordable price. This edition is available for Friends and future members.

YOUR 2022 EDITION
Grégory Sugnaux, It’s all so tiresome

You can purchase a unique painting (18 x 24 cm, acrylic and gouache on canvas) by the Fribourg artist Grégory Sugnaux from the series It’s all so tiresome. Each portrait is personalized and numbered from 1 to 30. By ordering your painting, you will give the artist a keyword that will serve as inspiration.

Special price for members and future members: 300 CHF

How to order your personalized painting ? Directly via this online form. The keyword are to be inserted at this time. You can also order your painting by phone at 026 323 23 51 during opening hours.

“Images of moved people are filtered, collected and then arbitrarily selected before being reproduced in paint. I start from images, from this socialized visual material of the sphere of the ordinary appearance. There is first the process of collection, iterative stuttering of the similar. Then, by a computer software conceived for this purpose, I constitute a bank of images answering the same key words that the Friends of Friart provide by ordering a painting. On the various forums and social networks, these images are distributed in a similar simplicity (without description nor specific characteristic), delivered like a good joke without punchline, which confers them their banal and fascinating effectiveness. I replicate this banality in a quick, impressionistic gouache painting, where the affectivity of the images runs out like jam on bread. Affect is reinserted into the social field by an authentic mimicry. My painting is an art of time. Within the strange eternity without intensity of a decade that never ends, I cut slowdowns and accelerations, I mark stops and make shortcuts. (Grégory Sugnaux)

BIOGRAPHY
Grégory Sugnaux (1989) lives and works in Fribourg. His work is integrated into an extended network of cursed images, digested by a system of hashtags and hyperlinks. He holds a Bachelor’s degree from EDHEA (Sierre) and a Master’s degree from HKB (Bern). In 2015, he received the Kiefer Hablitzel I Göhner art prize. His recent exhibitions include Display, Berlin (2020), Palazzina, Basel (2020) and data romance, Gruyères (2022). His first solo exhibition Definitive, therefore provisional was presented at Kunsthalle Friart in 2019. From 2016 to 2020, he is co-curator of the independent art center WallRiss in Freiburg. Currently, he is in residence in Rome with the Instituto Svizzero until July 2023.

Information and order: amis@friart.ch

Spaces

Located in a former cardboard factory, Friart’s exhibition spaces are located on two floors, the ground and first floors of the building. The main space (c. 100m²) is flanked on either side by large industrial windows and a central colonnade. The first floor (c. 70m²) is L-shaped. The windows and the central colonnade are similar to those on the ground floor. The technical equipment rooms can be found on the third floor, as well as an apartment for the reception of artists. The reception and bookstore are located in the basement.

RENTAL OF SPACES

Friart’s exhibition spaces can be rented for private events. Private events must be compatible with the Friart calendar.

Information and pricing: info@friart.ch

Bookstore

Kunsthalle image

Located at the Friart reception, the bookstore presents a selection of catalogues, artists’ books and novels, monographs and theoretical works on contemporary art. In addition to a wide range of the latest specialist magazines and books, new publications are added every month in relation to Kunsthalle Friart exhibitions and the town’s cultural activities. Artists, curators, art spaces and institutions are regularly invited to curate a section of the bookstore. 

Information and orders: editions@friart.ch

Supports

Friart thanks for the support by
– Loterie Romande
– Agglomeration Freiburg
– State of Fribourg
– City of Fribourg
– Swiss Confederation, Federal Office of Culture
– Friends of Friart
– Kiefer Hablitzel Stiftung
– Ernst Göhner Stiftung
– Dr. Georg und Josi Guggenheim Stiftung
– Ernst & Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung
– Stiftung Temperatio

and its partners
– Association of Museums of the Canton of Fribourg
– Association K / Verein C
– Association of Museums in Switzerland
– Fribourg Tourism
– Kollektiv Ortie
– TRNSTN RADIO
– Atelier Studio 48
– WallStreet
– Restaurant du Belvédère
– Moonlight Kombucha
– Cantina del Mulino
– Le Cric, Cooperative Printing Office
– Center of Socioprofessional Integration Fribourg, CIS

Mission

Kunsthalle image

Seit der Gründung im Jahr 1981 hat Friart über 160 Ausstellungen und 30 Projekte ausserhalb der Kunsthalle organisiert. Seit 1991 befindet sich die Kunsthalle in einem Industriegebäude an der Petites-Rames 22, in der Altstadt von Freiburg. Hier, an der Schnittstelle der zwei Sprachräume, vereint sie die deutschsprachige Kunstszene mit jener der Romandie und bildet so einen Ort des Austausches. Durch ihren Abenteuergeist und der globalen Reichweite des kuratorischen Programms, hat die Friart internationale Anerkennung erlangt. Sie versammelt aufstrebende, nationale und internationale Künstler:innen und präsentiert historische Untersuchungen, die sich mit der (Wieder-) Entdeckung von zu wenig beachteten Künstler:innen und Werken, parallelen Geschichten, alternativen Kulturen sowie Ausdrucksweisen befassen.

Die Kunsthalle war für die ersten Einzelausstellungen von Dominique Gonzales Foerster (1996), Latifa Echakhch (2010), Valentin Carron (2002), Steven Parrino (2002), und David Hammons (1993) sowie bedeutende Ausstellung von Renée Green (1996), Julia Scher (1996), Thomas Hirschhorn (1995), und Marc Dion (1995) verantwortlich. Zu den jüngeren Projekten zählen Ausstellungen mit dem Design-Duo Trix & Robert Haussmann (2014), Cameron Rowland (2016), der italienischen Künstlerin Ketty La Rocca (2019), Dorota Gaweda & Eglé Kulbokaité (2019), Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff (2020), und Hamishi Farah (2021), ausserdem forschungsorientierte Archivausstellungen wie Film Implosion! (2015) über den Experimentalfilm in der Schweiz, Discoteca Analitica (2019) über das Aufkommen der Neuen Medien in den 1960er Jahren, oder Les films de Guillaume Dustan (2020) mit den Filmen des französischen Schriftstellers aus den Jahren 2000 bis 2004.

Die Kunsthalle Friart Fribourg wird von einem gemeinnützigen Verein verwaltet.

MITGLIEDER DES VORSTANDES DES VEREINS FRI-ART:
– Clémence de Weck: Präsidentschaft
– Nicolas Brodard
– Hani Buri
– Julien Vuilleumier
– Irène Unholz
– Débora Alcaine

KÜNSTLERISCHE LEITUNG SEIT 1981:
– Michel Ritter (1981–2002)
– Sarah Zürcher (2002–2007)
– Corinne Charpentier (2007–2013)
– Balthazar Lovay (2013–2019)
– Nicolas Brulhart (seit 2019)

Team/Kontakt

Kunsthalle image

ADMINISTRATION
– Nicolas Brulhart: Künstlerische Leitung
– Estelle Negro: Administrative Leitung
– Sacha Rappo: Künstlerische Koordination
– Pauline Mayor: Kommunikation
– Nicolas Horvath: Praktikum

EMPFANG
– Joëlla Gatambara
– Esengo Miere
– Maïté Pittet
– Alix Beaudegnies
– Camille Ayer
– Janosh Ourtilane

MITARBEITER:INNEN
– Fanny Delarze: Kulturelle Vermittlung
– Eurostandard, Pierrick Brégeon: Grafikdesign
– Guillaume Baeriswyl: Fotografie
– Chi-Binh Trieu: Programmierung (neue Webseite)
– Marie Gyger: Redaktionelle Leitung (neue Webseite)
– Fabian Stücheli: Technik und Aufbau
– Jack Sims: Englische Übersetzung
– Michèle Graf und Selina Grüter: Deutsche Übersetzung

UNTERHALT
– Teresa de Sousa Celestino-Cardosi
– Conceiçao Silva Carvalho

KONTAKT
Kunsthalle Friart Fribourg
Kleinrahmengasse 22
Postfach 294
CH–1701 Freiburg
+41 (0) 26 323 23 51
info@fri-art.ch

PRESSE
press@friart.ch

LIBRAIRIE
editions@friart.ch


MEDIATION
mediation@friart.ch

Newsletter
Instagram
Facebook
Vimeo
Soundcloud

Freund:innen von Friart

Ein Teil der Freund:innen von Friart zu werden, ist ein Idealer Weg die Kunsthalle zu unterstützen, von ihren Aktivitäten zu profitieren und dabei Gleichgesinnte kennenzulernen und die Leidenschaft für Kunst mit andern zu teilen.

VORTEILE

– Freier Eintritt in die Kunsthalle und in zahlreichen Institutionen der ganzen Schweiz*
– 20% Ermässigung auf Editionen und Publikationen
– Geführte Besichtigung für die Freund:innen von Friart
– Jährlicher Kulturausflug

*Mamco Genève, Centre d’art contemporain Genève, CAN – Centre d’art de Neuchâtel, Kunsthalle Bern, Kunsthalle Zürich, Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, Kunsthalle St. Gallen, Kunsthaus Glarus, Kunstmuseum Thun, Kunstmuseum Langenthal, Aargauer Kunsthaus Aarau, Museum Allerheiligen Schaffhausen, Centro Arte Contemporanea Ticino Bellinzona.

PREISE

Künstler:in/Studierende
20 CHF / Jahr
Freund:in
50 CHF / Jahr
Paare
80 CHF / Jahr
Unterstützer:in
500 CHF / Jahr
Gönner:in
Freier Betrag über 500 CHF

FREUND:IN WERDEN

Bei der Anmeldung haben Sie die Möglichkeit die Sonderedition für die Freund:innen von Friart zu erwerben.

Für weitere Informationen: amis@friart.ch / +41 (0) 26 323 23 51

VEREINSVORSTAND

– Luke H. Gillon: Präsidentschaft
– Pierre Stadler: Kassierer
– Laura Lanfranchi, Antonie Oberson, Nicolas Horvath, Alix Baudegnies: Vorstand
– Jean-Baptiste de Weck: Ehrenpräsident

Edition der Freund:innen von Friart

Der Verein der Freund:innen von Friart lädt jährlich eine:n der Kunsthalle nahestehende:r Künstler:in ein, eine Sonderedition für einen erschwinglichen Preis zu realisieren. Diese Edition kann von den zukünftigen Freund:innen von Friart erworben werden.

IHRE EDITION 2022

Grégory Sugnaux, It’s all so tiresome

Der Verein der Freund:innen von Friart bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, ein einzigartiges Gemälde (18 x 24 cm, Acryl und Gouache auf Leinwand) des Freiburger Künstlers Grégory Sugnaux aus der Serie It’s all so tiresome zu erwerben. Jedes Porträt ist personalisiert und von 1 bis 30 nummeriert. Bei der Bestellung Ihres Gemäldes übermitteln Sie dem Künstler maximal 3 Schlüsselwörter, die als Inspiration dienen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass jedes Gemälde fotografiert wird, bevor es an den/die Käufer:in verschickt wird.

Sonderpreis nur für Mitglieder : 300 CHF

Wie bestellen ich mein individuelles Gemälde ? Direkt über die Online-Anmeldung. Die Schlüsselwörter sind zu diesem Zeitpunkt einzugeben. Sie können Ihr Gemälde auch telefonisch unter 026 323 23 51 während der Öffnungszeiten bestellen. Die Bestellung wird direkt während des Anrufs bearbeitet.

“Bilder von bewegten Menschen werden herausgefiltert, werden gefiltert, gesammelt und dann willkürlich ausgewählt, bevor sie in der Malerei reproduziert werden. Ich gehe von Bildern aus, von diesem sozialisierten visuellen Material aus der Sphäre des gewöhnlichen Erscheinens. Da ist zunächst der Prozess des Sammelns, ein iteratives Stottern des Ähnlichen. Anschließend mittels einer eigens dafür entwickelten Computersoftware stelle ich eine Bilddatenbank zusammen, die denselben Schlüsselwörtern entspricht, die Friarts Freunde bei der Bestellung eines Gemäldes angeben. In den verschiedenen Foren und sozialen Netzwerken werden diese Bilder in ähnlicher Einfachheit (ohne Beschreibung oder besondere Merkmale) verteilt und wie ein guter Witz ohne Pointe geliefert, was ihnen ihre banale und faszinierende Wirksamkeit verleiht. Ich erwidere diese Banalität in einer schnellen, impressionistischen Gouache-Malerei, in denen sich die Affektivität der Bilder wie Marmelade auf Brot erschöpft. Der Affekt wird durch eine authentische Nachahmung wieder in das soziale Feld eingefügt. Meine Malerei ist eine Kunst der Zeit. Innerhalb der seltsamen, intensitätslosen Ewigkeit eines Jahrzehnts, das einfach nicht enden will, schneide ich Zeitlupen und Beschleunigungen heraus, markiere Haltepunkte und spart Abkürzungen.” (Grégory Sugnaux)

BIOGRAFIE

Grégory Sugnaux (1989) lebt und arbeitet in Freiburg. Seine Arbeit ist Teil eines erweiterten Netzwerks von verfluchten Bildern, die durch ein System von Hashtags und Hyperlinks aufbereitet werden. Er hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss von der EDHEA (Sierre) und einen Master-Abschluss von der HKB (Bern). Im Jahr 2015 erhielt er den Kiefer Hablitzel I Göhner Kunstpreis. Zu seinen jüngsten Ausstellungen gehören Display, Berlin (2020) und Palazzina, Basel (2020). Seine erste Einzelausstellung Définitif, donc provisoire wurde 2019 in der Kunsthalle Friart gezeigt. Von 2016 bis 2020 ist er Co-Kurator des unabhängigen Kunstzentrums WallRiss in Freiburg. Im Jahr 2020 ist er Finalist bei den Swiss Art Awards.
Seine Einzelausstellung data romance im Château de Gruyères wird am 10. März 2022, 18h30 eröffnet (11.03-05.06.2022).

Räumlichkeiten

Die Ausstellungsräume der Friart befinden sich in einer ehemaligen Kartonfabrik und erstrecken sich über das Erdgeschoss und den ersten Stock des Gebäudes. Der Hauptausstellungsraum (ca. 100 m²) ist von beiden Seiten mit grossen, industriellen Fenstern flankiert und wird von einem mittigen Säulengang gestützt. Das erste Obergeschoss (ca. 70 m²) besteht aus einem L-förmigen Raum, während der mittige Säulengang jenem des Erdgeschosses gleicht. Im dritten und obersten Geschoss, befindet sich eine Wohnung zur Unterbringung der Künstler:innen sowie Räume für die Ausstellungstechnik. Im Untergeschoss befinden sich der Empfang und die Buchhandlung.

VERMIETUNG

Sofern mit dem Ausstellungskalender der Firart vereinbar, können die Ausstellungsräume für private Anlässe gemietet werden. 
Für weitere Informationen und Preise: info@friart.ch

Buchhandlung

Kunsthalle image

Die Buchhandlung im Eingang der Friart bietet eine Auswahl an Katalogen, Büchern, Romanen und Monografien von Künstler:innen sowie theoretische Schriften zu zeitgenössischer Kunst. Neben einem diversen Sortiment an aktuellen Magazinen und Büchern, ergänzen wir diese in Bezug auf die jeweils aktuelle Ausstellung oder andere kulturelle Anlässe der Stadt, monatlich mit neuen Publikationen. Zudem werden Künstler:innen, Kurator:innen, Kunsträume und Kunstinstitutionen regelmässig eingeladen, einen Bereich der Buchhandlung zu kuratieren.

Für weitere Informationen und Bestellungen: editions@friart.ch

Unterstützung

Friart dankt für die Unterstützung von
– Loterie Romande
– Agglomeration Freiburg
– Staat Freiburg
– Stadt Freiburg
– Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, Bundesamt für Kultur
– Freund:innen von Friart
– Kiefer Hablitzel Stiftung
– Ernst Göhner Stiftung
– Dr. Georg und Josi Guggenheim Stiftung
– Ernst & Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung
– Stiftung Temperatio

und ihren Partnern
– Restaurant du Belvédère
– Kollektiv Ortie
– TRNSTN RADIO
– Atelier Studio 48
– WallStreet
– Verein der Museen des Kantons Freiburgs, VMKF
– Association K / Verein C
– Verband der Museen der Schweiz, VMS
– Freiburg Tourismus
– Cantina del Mulino
– Le Cric, Genossenschaftsdruckerei
– Centre d’Intégration Socioprofessionelle Fribourg, CIS

Stellen

Die Kunsthalle sucht eine:n technische:n Regisseur:in zu 20%.
Stellenantritt ab Juli 2022 oder nach Vereinbarung.