Mission

Kunsthalle image

Friart has organised over 160 exhibitions and 30 off-site projects since it was founded in 1981. In 1991, Friart moved into an industrial building at No. 22 Petites-Rames in Fribourg’s old town. At the crossroads of Switzerland’s different linguistic regions, Friart is somewhere that brings the different art scenes of French and German-speaking Switzerland into dialogue. Friart has earned an international reputation for its adventurousness and the global reach of a curatorial programme that showcases emerging, Swiss and international artists, and presents historical surveys that aim to promote the (re-)discovery of parallel histories, alternative cultures and expression, and artists and works that have not received the attention they deserve.

The Kunsthalle Friart has presented debut solo exhibitions of Dominique Gonzales Foerster (1996), Latifa Echakhch (2010), Valentin Carron (2002), Steven Parrino (2002) and David Hammons (1993), and organised significant exhibitions of work by Renée Green (1996), Julia Scher (1996), Thomas Hirschhorn (1995) and Marc Dion (1995). Recently, it hosted exhibitions by the designers Trix & Robert Haussmann (2014), Cameron Rowland (2016), Italian artist Ketty La Rocca (2019), Dorota Gaweda & Eglé Kulbokaité (2019), Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff (2020) and Hamishi Farah (2021) and organised the investigative and research exhibitions Movie Implosion! (2015), on Swiss experimental cinema, Discoteca Analitica (2019), on the emergence of multimedia environments in the 1960s, and The films of Guillaume Dustan (2020), which presented the films made by the French writer between 2000 and 2004.

Kunsthalle Friart Fribourg is managed by a non-profit association.

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE OF THE FRI-ART ASSOCIATION:
– Clémence de Weck: Presidency
– Nicolas Brodard
– Hani Buri
– Julien Vuilleumier
– Irène Unholz
– Débora Alcaine

ARTISTIC DIRECTION SINCE 1981:
– Michel Ritter (1981-2002)
– Sarah Zürcher (2002-2007)
– Corinne Charpentier (2007-2013)
– Balthazar Lovay (2013-2019)
– Nicolas Brulhart (since 2019)

Team/Contact

Kunsthalle image

ADMINISTRATION
– Nicolas Brulhart: artistic direction
– Estelle Negro: administrative direction
– Sacha Rappo: artistic coordination
– Julie Folly: communication

RECEPTION
– Esengo Miere
– Camille Ayer
– Maïté Pittet
– Alix Beaudegnies
– Janosh Ourtilane
– Pierre Huguenot

CONTRIBUTORS
– Fanny Delarze: art education
– Eurostandard, Pierrick Brégeon: graphic design
– Guillaume Baeriswyl: photography
– Chi-Binh Trieu: programming (new website)
– Marie Gyger: editorial direction (new website)
– Jack Sims: English translator
– Michèle Graf and Selina Grüter: German translators

MAINTENANCE
– Teresa de Sousa Celestino-Cardosi
– Conceição Silva Carvalho

CONTACT

Kunsthalle Friart Fribourg
Petites-Rames 22
Case Postale 294
CH–1701 Fribourg
+41 (0) 26 323 23 51
info@friart.ch

PRESS
press@friart.ch

BOOKSHOP
editions@friart.ch

MEDIATION
mediation@friart.ch

Newsletter
Instagram
Facebook
Vimeo
Soundcloud

Friends of Friart

Kunsthalle image

Becoming a Friend of Friart is the ideal way to support the institution, remain in close contact with its activities and meet new people who share a passion for art.

BENEFITS

– Free admission to Friart and many partner locations throughout Switzerland*
– Discount of 20% on Friart publications and editions
– Free guided tour
– Annual cultural trip with the Friends of Friart

*Mamco Genève, Centre d’art contemporain Genève, CAN – Centre d’art de Neuchâtel, Kunsthalle Bern, Kunsthalle Zürich, Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, Kunsthalle St. Gallen, Kunsthaus Glarus, Kunstmuseum Thun, Kunstmuseum Langenthal, Aargauer Kunsthaus Aarau, Museum Allerheiligen Schaffhausen, Centro Arte Contemporanea Ticino Bellinzona

ADMISSION

Artist / Student
20 CHF / year
Friend
50 CHF / year
Couple
80 CHF / year
Donor
500 CHF / year
Benefactor
Amounts over 500 CHF

BECOME A FRIEND 

When registering, you have the opportunity of acquiring the Friends of Friart special edition.

Information: amis@friart.ch / + 41 (0)26 323 23 51

ASSOCIATION COMMITTEE

– Luke H. Gillon: President
– Pierre Stadler: Treasurer
– Laura Lanfranchi, Antonie Oberson, Nicolas Horvath, Alix Baudegnies: Committee
– Jean-Baptiste de Weck: Honorary President

Edition of the Friends of Friart

Each year, the Association des Ami-e-s de Friart invites an artist connected to the Kunsthalle to produce a special edition at an affordable price. This edition is available for Friends and future members.

YOUR 2022 EDITION
Grégory Sugnaux, It’s all so tiresome

You can purchase a unique painting (18 x 24 cm, acrylic and gouache on canvas) by the Fribourg artist Grégory Sugnaux from the series It’s all so tiresome. Each portrait is personalized and numbered from 1 to 30. By ordering your painting, you will give the artist a keyword that will serve as inspiration.

Special price for members and future members: 300 CHF

How to order your personalized painting ? Directly via this online form. The keyword are to be inserted at this time. You can also order your painting by phone at 026 323 23 51 during opening hours.

“Images of moved people are filtered, collected and then arbitrarily selected before being reproduced in paint. I start from images, from this socialized visual material of the sphere of the ordinary appearance. There is first the process of collection, iterative stuttering of the similar. Then, by a computer software conceived for this purpose, I constitute a bank of images answering the same key words that the Friends of Friart provide by ordering a painting. On the various forums and social networks, these images are distributed in a similar simplicity (without description nor specific characteristic), delivered like a good joke without punchline, which confers them their banal and fascinating effectiveness. I replicate this banality in a quick, impressionistic gouache painting, where the affectivity of the images runs out like jam on bread. Affect is reinserted into the social field by an authentic mimicry. My painting is an art of time. Within the strange eternity without intensity of a decade that never ends, I cut slowdowns and accelerations, I mark stops and make shortcuts. (Grégory Sugnaux)

BIOGRAPHY
Grégory Sugnaux (1989) lives and works in Fribourg. His work is integrated into an extended network of cursed images, digested by a system of hashtags and hyperlinks. He holds a Bachelor’s degree from EDHEA (Sierre) and a Master’s degree from HKB (Bern). In 2015, he received the Kiefer Hablitzel I Göhner art prize. His recent exhibitions include Display, Berlin (2020), Palazzina, Basel (2020) and data romance, Gruyères (2022). His first solo exhibition Definitive, therefore provisional was presented at Kunsthalle Friart in 2019. From 2016 to 2020, he is co-curator of the independent art center WallRiss in Freiburg. Currently, he is in residence in Rome with the Instituto Svizzero until July 2023.

Information and order: amis@friart.ch

Spaces

Located in a former cardboard factory, Friart’s exhibition spaces are located on two floors, the ground and first floors of the building. The main space (c. 100m²) is flanked on either side by large industrial windows and a central colonnade. The first floor (c. 70m²) is L-shaped. The windows and the central colonnade are similar to those on the ground floor. The technical equipment rooms can be found on the third floor, as well as an apartment for the reception of artists. The reception and bookstore are located in the basement.

RENTAL OF SPACES

Friart’s exhibition spaces can be rented for private events. Private events must be compatible with the Friart calendar.

Information and pricing: info@friart.ch

Bookstore

Kunsthalle image

Located at the Friart reception, the bookstore presents a selection of catalogues, artists’ books and novels, monographs and theoretical works on contemporary art. In addition to a wide range of the latest specialist magazines and books, new publications are added every month in relation to Kunsthalle Friart exhibitions and the town’s cultural activities. Artists, curators, art spaces and institutions are regularly invited to curate a section of the bookstore. 

Information and orders: editions@friart.ch

Supports

Friart thanks for the support by
– Loterie Romande
– Agglomeration Freiburg
– State of Fribourg
– City of Fribourg
– Swiss Confederation, Federal Office of Culture
– Friends of Friart
– Kiefer Hablitzel Stiftung
– Ernst Göhner Stiftung
– Dr. Georg und Josi Guggenheim Stiftung
– Ernst & Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung
– Stiftung Temperatio

and its partners
– Association of Museums of the Canton of Fribourg
– Association K / Verein C
– Association of Museums in Switzerland
– Fribourg Tourism
– Kollektiv Ortie
– TRNSTN RADIO
– Atelier Studio 48
– WallStreet
– Restaurant du Belvédère
– Moonlight Kombucha
– Cantina del Mulino
– Le Cric, Cooperative Printing Office
– Center of Socioprofessional Integration Fribourg, CIS

Mission

Kunsthalle image

Depuis sa fondation en 1981, Friart a organisé plus de 160 expositions et 30 projets hors-les-murs, ainsi qu’un riche programme de conférences, discussions et performances. En 1991, le Centre d’art est installé dans un bâtiment industriel aux Petites-Rames 22, dans la vieille ville de Fribourg. Au carrefour des différentes régions linguistiques, c’est un lieu d’échange qui fait converger les différentes scènes artistiques de Suisse romande et de Suisse alémanique. Friart a acquis une réputation internationale pour son esprit aventureux et la portée globale d’un programme curatorial qui met en avant des artistes émergeant·e·s, suisse·esse·s et internationaux·ales, et présente des enquêtes historiques visant à la (re-)découverte d’artistes et d’oeuvres minorées, d’histoires parallèles, de cultures et d’expressions alternatives.

La Kunsthalle a présenté les premières expositions monographiques de Dominique Gonzales Foerster (1996), Latifa Echakhch (2010), Valentin Carron (2002), Steven Parrino (2002) ou encore David Hammons (1993), et a organisé des expositions importantes de Renée Green (1996), Julia Scher (1996), Thomas Hirschhorn (1995) ou Marc Dion (1995). Récemment, elle a accueilli les expositions des designers Trix & Robert Haussmann (2014), de Cameron Rowland (2016), de l’artiste italienne Ketty La Rocca (2019), de Dorota Gaweda & Eglé Kulbokaité (2019), Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff (2020) ou encore Hamishi Farah (2021) et organisé les expositions d’enquête et de recherche Film Implosion! (2015) sur le cinéma expérimental suisse, Discoteca Analitica (2019), sur l’émergence des environnements multimédia dans les années 1960, ou Les films de Guillaume Dustan (2020) qui présente les films réalisés par l’écrivain français entre 2000 et 2004.

La Kunsthalle Friart Fribourg est gerée par une association à but non-lucrative.

MEMBRES DU COMITE DE L’ASSOCIATION FRI-ART:
– Clémence de Weck: présidence
– Nicolas Brodard
– Hani Buri
– Julien Vuilleumier
– Irène Unholz
– Débora Alcaine

DIRECTION ARTISTIQUE DEPUIS 1981:
– Michel Ritter (1981-2002)
– Sarah Zürcher (2002-2007)
– Corinne Charpentier (2007-2013)
– Balthazar Lovay (2013-2019)
– Nicolas Brulhart (depuis 2019)

Équipe/Contact

Kunsthalle image

ADMINISTRATION
– Nicolas Brulhart: direction artistique
– Estelle Negro: direction administrative
– Sacha Rappo: coordination artistique
– Julie Folly: communication
– Nicolas Horvath: stage

ACCUEIL
– Esengo Miere
– Camille Ayer
– Maïté Pittet
– Alix Beaudegnies
– Janosh Ourtilane
– Pierre Huguenot



COLLABORATEUR·RICE·S
– Fanny Delarze: médiation culturelle
– Eurostandard, Pierrick Brégeon: graphisme
– Guillaume Baeriswyl: photographie
– Julie Folly: photographie
– Chi-Binh Trieu: programmation (nouveau site web)
– Marie Gyger: direction éditoriale (nouveau site web)
– Fabian Stücheli: montage et technique
– Jack Sims: traductions anglaises
– Michèle Graf et Selina Grüter: traductions allemandes

ENTRETIEN
– Teresa de Sousa Celestino-Cardosi
– Conceiçao Silva Carvalho

CONTACT
Kunsthalle Friart Fribourg
Petites-Rames 22
Case Postale 294
CH–1701 Fribourg
+41 (0) 26 323 23 51
info@friart.ch

PRESSE
press@friart.ch

LIBRAIRIE
editions@friart.ch

MEDIATION
mediation@friart.ch

Newsletter
Instagram
Facebook
Vimeo
Soundcloud

Ami·e·s de Friart

Devenir un·e Ami·e de Friart est le moyen idéal de soutenir la Kunsthalle, de bénéficier d’une proximité avec ses activités et de rencontrer de nouvelles personnes qui partagent une passion pour l’art.

AVANTAGES

– Entrée gratuite dans la Kunsthalle et dans de nombreux lieux partenaires dans toute la Suisse*
– Réduction de 20% sur les éditions et publications
– Visites commentée pour les Ami·e·s
– Voyage culturel des Ami·e·s une fois par année

*Mamco Genève, Centre d’art contemporain Genève, CAN – Centre d’art de Neuchâtel, Kunsthalle Bern, Kunsthalle Zürich, Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, Kunsthalle St. Gallen, Kunsthaus Glarus, Kunstmuseum Thun, Kunstmuseum Langenthal, Aargauer Kunsthaus Aarau, Museum Allerheiligen Schaffhausen, Centro Arte Contemporanea Ticino Bellinzona

Tarifs

Artiste / Étudiant·e
20 CHF / an
Ami·e
50 CHF / an
Couple
80 CHF / an
Donateur·trice 
500 CHF / an
Bienfaiteur·trice
montant libre supérieur à 500 CHF

DEVENIR MEMBRE

Lors de votre inscription, vous avez la possibilité d’acquérir l’édition spéciale des Ami·e·s de Friart.

Renseignements: amis@friart.ch / + 41 (0)26 323 23 51

COMITÉ DE L’ASSOCIATION

– Luke H. Gillon: présidence
– Pierre Stadler: trésorie
– Laura Lanfranchi, Antonie Oberson, Nicolas Horvath, Alix Baudegnies: comité
– Jean-Baptiste de Weck: présidence d’honneur

Éditions des Ami·e·s de Friart

L’Association des Ami·e·s de Friart invite chaque année un·e artiste proche de la Kunsthalle à réaliser une édition spéciale à un prix accessible. Cette édition est disponible pour les Ami·e·s et les futur·e·s membres.

VOTRE ÉDITION 2022

Grégory Sugnaux, It’s all so tiresome

Vous avez la possibilité d’acquérir une peinture unique (18 x 24 cm, acrylique et gouache sur toile) de l’artiste fribourgeois Grégory Sugnaux de la série It’s all so tiresome. Chaque portrait est personnalisé et numéroté de 1 à 30. En commandant votre peinture, vous transmettrez à l’artiste au maximum 3 mots-clés qui lui serviront d’inspiration. Veuillez prendre note que chaque peinture sera photographiée avant d’être envoyée à son acquéreur·euse.

Prix spécial réservé aux membres et futur·e·s membres : 300 CHF

Comment commander votre peinture personnalisée ? Directement via ce formulaire en ligne. Les mots-clés sont à introduire à ce moment-là. Vous pouvez également commander votre peinture par téléphone au 026 323 23 51 durant les heures d’ouvertures. La commande est traitée durant l’appel.

“Des images de gens émus sont filtrées, rassemblées puis arbitrairement sélectionnées avant d’être reproduites en peinture. Je pars des images, de ce matériau visuel sociabilisé de la sphère de l’apparaître ordinaire. Il y a d’abord le processus de collecte, bégaiement itératif du semblable. Puis, par un logiciel informatique conçu à cet effet, je constitue une banque d’images répondant aux mêmes mots clés que les Ami·e·s de Friart fournissent en commandant une peinture. Sur les différents forums et les réseaux sociaux, ces images sont distribuées dans une simplicité semblable (sans description ni caractéristique spécifique), délivrées comme une bonne blague sans punchline, ce qui leur confère leur efficacité banale et fascinante. Je réplique cette banalité dans une peinture rapide, impressionniste à la gouache, où l’affectivité des images s’épuise comme de la confiture sur du pain. L’affect est réinséré dans le champ social par un mimétisme authentique. Ma peinture est un art du temps. Au sein de l’étrange éternité sans intensité d’une décennie qui n’en finit pas de ne pas finir, je découpe des ralentis et des accélérations, je marque des arrêts et ménage des raccourcis.” (Grégory Sugnaux)

BIOGRAPHIE

Grégory Sugnaux (1989) vit et travaille à Fribourg. Son travail s’intègre dans un réseau élargi d’images maudites, digérées par un système de hashtags et d’hyperliens. Il est titulaire d’un Bachelor de l’EDHEA (Sierre) et un Master de la HKB (Bern). En 2015, il reçoit le prix d’art Kiefer Hablitzel I Göhner. Parmi ses expositions récentes se trouvent Display, Berlin (2020) et Palazzina, Basel (2020). Sa première exposition personnelle Définitif, donc provisoire a été présentée à Kunsthalle Friart en 2019. De 2016 à 2020, il est co-curateur du centre d’art indépendant WallRiss à Fribourg. En 2020, il est finaliste des Swiss Art Awards. Son exposition personnelle data romance au Château de Gruyères est ouverte du 11 mars au 5 juin 2022.

Renseignements et commande: amis@friart.ch

Espaces

Situés dans une ancienne cartonnerie, les espaces d’expositions de Friart se déploient sur deux étages, au rez et au 1er étage du bâtiment. La halle principale (c. 100m²) est flanquée de part et d’autre de grandes fenêtres industrielles et d’une colonnade centrale. Le premier étage (c. 70m²) est articulé en L. Les fenêtres et la colonnade centrale sont similaires à l’étage inférieur. Un appartement destiné à l’accueil des artistes ainsi que les espaces techniques occupent le 3e étage du bâtiment. L’accueil et la librairie se trouvent au sous-sol.

LOCATION DES ESPACES
Les espaces d’expositions de Friart peuvent être loués pour des événements privés. La location est permise lorsque l’événement privé est compatible avec le calendrier du Centre d’art.

Renseignements et tarifs: info@friart.ch

Librairie

Kunsthalle image

La librairie, située à l’accueil de Friart, présente une sélection de catalogues, livres et romans d’artistes, monographies ainsi qu’ouvrages théoriques sur l’art contemporain. Outre un large éventail de magazines et de livres spécialisés les plus récents, nous ajoutons chaque mois de nouvelles publications en rapport avec les expositions de la Kunsthalle et l’actualité culturelle de la ville. Régulièrement, des artistes, curateur·trice·s, espaces d’art et institutions sont invité·e·s à curater une section de la librairie. 

Informations et commandes: editions@friart.ch

Soutiens

Friart remercie pour le soutien de
– Loterie Romande
– Agglomération de Fribourg
– Etat de Fribourg
– Ville de Fribourg
– Confédération suisse, Office fédéral de la culture
– Ami·e·s de Friart
– Kiefer Hablitzel Stiftung
– Ernst Göhner Stiftung
– Dr. Georg und Josi Guggenheim Stiftung
– Ernst & Olga Gubler-Hablützel Stiftung
– Stiftung Temperatio

et ses partenaires
– Association des Musées du Canton de Fribourg, AMCF
– Association K / Verein C
– Association des musées suisses, AMS
– Fribourg Tourisme
– Le Kollektiv Ortie
– TRNSTN RADIO
– Atelier Studio 48
– WallStreet
– Restaurant du Belvédère
– Cantina del Mulino
– Moonlight Kombucha
– Le Cric, imprimerie coopérative
– Centre d’Intégration Socioprofessionelle Fribourg, CIS

Emploi

Aucun poste vacant disponible pour le moment.